Gold Medal Club

Gold Medal Club 50-year Reunion Weekend

Gold Medal Club

Celebrating 50-plus years as a KU graduate.

The Gold Medal Club welcomes alumni on their 50th anniversary of graduation. Each year in April, the Club hosts a Gold Medal Club luncheon during Alumni Reunion Weekend to elect the slate of new officers and recognize class members who have not yet received their gold pin.

The 2018 Alumni Reunion Weekend is April 6-7, 2018. More information will be available closer to the date.

If you have questions, please contact Michelle Lang, director of alumni programs, at or 785.864.9769 (toll free 800.584.2957).

Active membership in the KU Alumni Association is encouraged. If you are not a current member, please consider joining to support our ability to host future reunion events. If you have questions about your membership status, please contact the Alumni Association at 785.864.4760 or 800.584.2957.

2018 Reunion Weekend
April 6-7, 2018

Friday, April 6

8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. Hospitality and Reunion Registration
Adams Alumni Center
Pick up reunion materials and nametags, visit with fellow alumni and enjoy an exhibit curated by KU Libraries featuring materials from 1968.

10 a.m. Campus Bus Tour
Bus departs from the Adams Alumni Center.
Led by University architect Jim Modig, a’73. The Lawrence campus is nationally renowned for its impressive architecture and stunning landscape. Get a glimpse of notable KU landmarks. Space is limited.

12-1:30 p.m. Reunion Kickoff Lunch featuring a KU Student Panel
Adams Alumni Center
Enjoy lunch and a special presentation by KU student leaders. Interact with current students and hear about how life on the Hill has changed—and in some ways, stayed the same.

2 p.m. Quantrill’s Raid Bus Tour
Bus departs from the Adams Alumni Center.
A local historian guides you on William Quantrill’s destructive path through Lawrence. Space is limited.

2 p.m. tour of Allen Fieldhouse
Home of KU men’s and women’s basketball teams, Allen Fieldhouse has been hailed as one of the best places in the nation to watch a college basketball game. Tour includes stops at the Booth Family Hall of Athletics, a sports shrine packed with exhibits and interactive displays that celebrate the history of Kansas athletics, and the new DeBruce Center, which houses James Naismith’s 13 original rules of “basket ball.” Space is limited.

Saturday, April 7

10-11 a.m. Hospitality and Reunion Registration
Adams Alumni Center
Enjoy coffee and fellowship with other reunion attendees and Jayhawks.

11:30 a.m. Gold Medal Club Luncheon and Program featuring the Class of 1968

1 p.m. The Torch new member initiation and reception
Kansas Room | Kansas Union
The student chapter of the Mortar Board invites you to attend the new member initiation and reception.

2 p.m. Tour of the Earth, Energy & Environment Center
The Earth, Energy & Environment Center, KU’s new home for geology and petroleum engineering, encourages collaboration between several disciplines on campus—and features a stunning skeletal cast of a 45-foot mosasaur in the structure’s four-story atrium. Tour includes EEEC’s Slawson Hall and Ritchie Hall and is led by Robert Goldstein, distinguished professor of geology and special adviser for campus development. Space is limited.

History of the Gold Medal Club

KU alumni who had passed their 50th class anniversary met for the first time in 1929. They agreed to hold such Senior Alumni Reunions every five years, a schedule they followed in 1934 and 1939. In the interim years, they were guests at the 50-year class reunions.

During the war year of 1944 the group did not meet, but in 1949 members formed the Gold Medal Club, as we now know it. The Club met for the first time at a dinner on June 5, 1949, with Professor E. F. Engel, 1892 graduate, as toastmaster and arrangements committee chairman. Approximately 50 people attended.

The Club’s purposes, as stated at its founding, are “to hold annual meetings at Commencement for social enjoyment and for the transaction of the business of the club, to seek ways and means of furthering the interests of the alma mater and to offer counsel in any matters affecting those interests, and to lend support to projects pertaining to University welfare.”

More than 50 years later, the Club continues to thrive and welcome new members.

2017 Officers and Counselors

Don Johnston, b’56, l’66, Lawrence

First Vice President
Judy Duncan Stanton, a’61, Prairie Village

Second Vice President
Martha “Marty” Fee, c’55, Hutchinson

2015 Elected Counselors
Martha “Marty” Fee, c’55, Hutchinson
Harry Gibson, e’64, g’66, Lawrence

2016 Elected Counselors
Alicia Laing Salisbury, c’61, Topeka

2017 Elected Counselors
James Duncan, e’55, Leawood
Beverly Sue Brownlee, d’55, g’58, Prairie Village

Advisory Board
Kay Cronkite Barnes, d’60, Kansas City
William “Bill” Benso, e’58, Lawrence
Dick Bond, c’57, l’60, Overland Park
Warren Corman, e’50, Lawrence
Audrey Hansen Langworthy, d’60, g’62, Prairie Village
Beverly Jennings Logan, c’52, s’83, Olathe
Eleanor Hawkinson Lowe, c’57, Mission Hills
Gary W. Padgett, b’55, Greenleaf
Diane Worthington Simpson, c’57, l’83, Lawrence
Kala Mays Stroup, c’59, g’64, PhD’74, Lawrence
Mary E. Turkington, j’46, Topeka
Roger D. Warren, c’54, m’57, Hanover

Past Presidents of the Gold Medal Club

1949 – Professor E.F. Engel, 1892 (Chairman)
1950 – Irving Hill, c1896
1951 – C.C. Brown, 1896
1952 – John Kane, 1900
1953 – Hugh Means, l1895
1954 – Porter Fones, 1900, 1902
1955 – Herman Langworthy, c1902, g1903
1956 – Leslie J. Lyons, l1900
1957 – Carmie Wolfe, 1903
1958 – Clare Cowley, c1904
1959 – C. Dodds, c1904
1960 – John Gage, 1907
1961 – Dr. Milton B. Miller, c1908
1962 – John W. Lapham, 1907
1963 – John B. Gage, 1907
1964 – N.T. “Tom” Veatch, e1909
1965 – Edward L. Griffin, c1911, e1912, g1913
1966 – Ralph Scamell, e1911
1967 – Albert P. Learned, e1910, g’30
1968 – Edward Boddington, a’14, l’16
1969 – Kenneth Dodderidge, l’17
1970 – Kenneth Dodderidge, l’17
1971 – J. Neale Carman, c’17, g’21
1972 – Edwin F. Price, c’19
1973 – Carl V. Rice, l’18
1974 – Arthur C. Lonborg, l’21
1975 – Ernst Uhrlaub, c’21, g’40
1976 – Spencer Gard, l’22
1977 – Paul Endacott, e’23
1978 – Kelvin Hoover, c’23
1979 – Virginia Docking Rice, d’24
1980 – Raymond Nichols, c’26, g’28
1981 – John W. “Twink” Starr, c’27



1982 – Louise Saltmarsh Baltis, c’24
Balfour Jeffrey, c’28
1984 – A.H. “Red” Cromb, b’30
1985 – Laurence C. Woodruff, c’24, g’30
1986 – Ted Sanborn, b’26
1987 – Josephine Rankin, d’31
1988 – Henry Shenk, d’28
1989 – Elizabeth Jeffrey Jenkins, c’32
1990 – Ernest J. Gilles, b’33
1991 – Marjorie Stacy Nation, d’33
1992 – Paul Wilbert, c’36, l’38
1993 – William H. Avery, c’34
1994 – Elmer C. Jackson, Jr., c’33, l’35
1995 – Robert Quinn Rohde, c’39
1996 – Mildred Clodfelter, b’41
1997 – John M. Wall, b’28, l’31
1998 – Ray (Ping) Senate, c’34
1999 – Claudine (Scottie) Scott Lingelbach, b’44
2000 – Charles “Chuck” Wright, f’41
2001 – Lee W. Huddleston, b’41
2002 – Elon M. Torrence, j’39
2003 – Judge Richard D. “Dick” Rogers, l’47
2004 – Mary E. Turkington, j’46
2005 – Glee S. Smith, Jr., c’43, l’47
2006 – Larry Winn, Jr., c’41
2007 – Otto O. Schnellbacher, Sr., d’48
2008 – Dick Wintermote, c’51
2009 – Don Fambrough, d’48
2010 – William “Bill” M. Hougland, b’52
2011 – Beverly Jennings Logan, c’52, s’83
2012 – Gary W. Padgett, b’55
2013 – Dick Bond, c’57, l’60
2014 – Marilyn Mundon Breidenthal, d’57
2015 – William “Bill” Benso, e’58
2016 – Roger D. Warren, c’54, m’57
2017 – Audrey Hansen Langworthy, d’60, g’62, Prairie Village