KU alumni team takes two trophies at Acura championship

Posted on Nov 9, 2015 in News

Acura Golf Championship 2015
The 6th annual Acura College Alumni Team Championship recently awarded two championship trophies to the University of Kansas team. The four-person team, made up of Ken Eland, c’81, Markus Hilger, Cole Nondorf, and Tom O’Keeffe, became just the second team to win two separate divisions, defeating the University of Arkansas in the bracket division final and earning the Gross Division trophy after carding a two-day total of 264.

“We had a great time, with great weather on a great course,” said Eland, adding that “we all played well, and after taking fourth place when we qualified three years ago, we really wanted a victory this year.”

The Acura College Alumni Team Championship was created as a grass-roots championship for Acura, the Preferred Vehicle of Pinehurst Resort, and the 36-hole competition is played on two of Pinehurst’s premier courses including the famed Pinehurst No. 2.  The championship field is determined through 60 individual qualifying golf tournaments held at Division I universities across the country.  The participating schools come from 13 NCAA Conferences.  The winning foursome from each university qualifier advances to the National Championship at Pinehurst.  The qualifying tournaments serve as fundraisers for the university alumni or athletic foundations; the KU qualifying tournament is hosted by the KU Alumni Association and was held at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson.

The KU Alumni Association has sent a team to the tournament for the past six years. While previous teams have placed in the top five, this is the first time a Jayhawk team has won the extremely competitive field. Complete scores and brackets are available here.

Tags: , , , , , ,